Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a particular type of protein that is found in certain kinds of grains, such as wheat and rye. Avoiding products with gluten in them is extremely important for people who have Celiac disease or are otherwise sensitive to gluten. They must carefully check the ingredients of every food item they buy, including seemingly simple products like honey.

honey in flowers

Whether you are completely gluten-free or just trying to cut back on your gluten consumption, here is what you need to know about whether or not raw honey is gluten-free:

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

The short answer is yes, honey is gluten-free. Honey is made by bees, who take the nectar from flowers and convert it into the delicious substance that we know as honey. On its own, this nectar does not contain wheat products and thus is safe for a gluten-free diet.

However, there is one caveat to add to this: not all honey is processed in gluten-free facilities. If the honey is processed in the same facility that processes wheat products, then the honey may become cross-contaminated that way. Some special honeys also include other ingredients that may contain gluten or have come in contact with something that contains gluten. Some honey-flavored products, such as sauces and dips, may also contain gluten for this reason.

Bottom line: Honey is generally safe for gluten-free diets, but if you have Celiac disease, then you should do your due diligence whenever buying honey — just to be on the safe side. In the next section, we will explain how to tell whether or not honey is gluten-free.

Shop Raw Honey

How to Tell If Honey Is Gluten-Free

The best way to tell if honey is gluten-free or not is to read the label. Some honeys will have a “gluten-free” label that clearly denotes they do not contain gluten. However, not every product that is gluten-free actually has a gluten-free label.

kaui honey

In 2013, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) ruled that gluten-free food cannot have more than 20 parts per million (ppm) in order to qualify for a gluten-free label. However, applying the gluten-free label to a product is voluntary. Thus, there are some products out there — including honey — that fall within the specified threshold for gluten-free food, but do not have a gluten-free label displayed. Just because a honey does not have a “gluten-free” label does not also mean that it will contain gluten.

Next, we recommend reading the ingredients to see if the honey contains any wheat grains, or ingredients derived from wheat grains. If it does, then it is not gluten-free. However, in most cases, the honey will not contain gluten-contaminated ingredients. For example, our Brightland raw honeys are only made of 100 percent raw, unfiltered honey, so they are gluten-free. (Learn more about “is honey good for you?”)

When in doubt, you can always check the brand’s website or reach out to them personally to confirm that a product is gluten-free. Most brands will be happy to answer your questions and help out a potential customer, just like we do here at Brightland.

brightland honey

Ready to try some delicious honey that just happens to be gluten-free? Check out our unfiltered honey set, The Couplet, featuring California Orange Blossom Honey and Kauai Wildflower Honey. These unique flavored honeys each have their own distinct flavor profile that will elevate any beverage or dish you put them in.